MIS 190 - Algorithms - Fall 2016

Department of Mathematics and Information Technology

Dr. Angela Berardinelli

Important Files and Links

All other files will be stored on Moodle for this class. You will receive instructions on how to access Moodle during the first class period.

Important Dates for Fall 2016

  • Wednesday, August 24: First day of class
  • Wednesday, August 31: Add/drop deadline
  • Monday, September 5: Labor Day (no class)
  • Monday, September 19: Exam 1
  • Friday, September 30: No class (Professor out of town)
  • Friday, October 14: Mid-semester break (no class)
  • Monday, October 24: Exam 2
  • Friday, November 18: Last day to withdraw
  • Wednesday, November 23 and Friday, November 25: Thanksgiving Break (no class)
  • Wednesday, November 30: Exam 3
  • Friday, December 9: Last day of class
  • Friday, December 16: Final Exam 10:30AM-12:30PM

Course Description

Introductory course surveying a variety of algorithm designs. Sorting algorithms, graph and tree algorithms, and asymptotic analysis of algorithm efficiency will be covered. Additional algorithm topics will be covered on a rotating basis, including matrix operation algorithms, combinatorial algorithms, cryptography algorithms, and computational complexity. No previous exposure to computer programming will be assumed. 3 credits.

Prerequisites: None.

Resources

Required Textbook: "Essential Algorithms" by Rod Stephens.

Office Hours: The perfect opportunity to ask general questions about course material, specific questions about homework problems or in-class examples, questions about your grade, questions about majoring in math or information technology, etc. My office location and office hour schedule are on my home page. You can also e-mail me to set up an appointment outside of office hours if that suits your schedule better.

Grading Information

If you have a weighted average of at least... You will earn a(n):
93% A
88% B+
82% B
77% C+
70% C
65% D+
60% D

Your final course grade will be a weighted average of five components: Homework (35%), Exam 1 (15%), Exam 2 (15%), Exam 3 (15%), Final Exam (20%).

Your lowest two (out of 8) written homework scores will be dropped when computing your final homework grade. There will be an extra assignment in lieu of class on September 30, and this assignment score cannot be dropped.

There will be no makeup exams. Please ensure you will be in class on exam days.